Mazda3 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Noob here, sorry but I was wondering what is the widest TIRE that can be put on stock 17" :shock: :shock: :shock: snowflake. No drop done. All stock.. Thanks for any and all replies...

·
Registered
10,739 Posts
You don't want to go any wider than 215 on the stock wheels, they are relatively narrow.

However, with the right setup (STIFF) and rolled fenders, you can fit up to a 9" wide wheel and 245 tires. But that won't be cheap...

·
Registered
2,582 Posts
I've heard about rolling fenders alot, but I never see pics of it being done. Or for that matter, where do you get it done? Is there a tool that anyone can use to do it? I've been thinking about this same thing, just on aftermarket wheels.

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Is there a noticeable difference going from 205 to 215? Thank you...

Me thinks "rollin the fender" is code for something else.. :shock: That's why you don't see any pix of it!! :lol: :lol:

·
Registered
15,654 Posts
[quote author=Cain link=topic=136003.msg2929213#msg2929213 date=1234371474]
I've heard about rolling fenders alot, but I never see pics of it being done. Or for that matter, where do you get it done? Is there a tool that anyone can use to do it? I've been thinking about this same thing, just on aftermarket wheels.
[/quote]

You just need to get a fender roller. Basically it bolts onto the hub (wheel removed from the car of course). From there it has an arm with a wheel, and a handle to turn the whole thing. Put the wheel against the inside of the fender lip and roll it along to bend the metal up. It helps to go very slowly and heat up the metal gently to keep from cracking the paint.

·
Registered
31,083 Posts
what is it your looking for? maximum stuffage without regard for price, mileage, warranty and anything else?
i doubt tire shops will warranty tires way oversized for the wheel, but who knows?