Mazda3 Forums banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been autocrossing my 2006 3i sport for two years on summer tires and I'm at the limit of what the tire is capable of. I want to switch to an r-compound that will last at least the entirety of one season (about 20 races). As far as I've been able to figure out, the most bang for the buck will either be from the Kumho Ecsta V710 or from the Hankook Z214. Any ideas of which would be best?

·
Registered
248 Posts
Hoosier A6s.

That being said, I have a set of 4 barely-used Kumho Ecsta V710s (second best, imo, and last longer) 225/45/17s for $300 shipped anywhere in the country for sale, if you want to go that route.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I want to stay with a 15" rim, but I would kill to get them at that price if I could. I've researched the A6 and while everyone says that they have the most stick, I also need to balance that with the fact that I am poor and need to have them last as long as possible.

·
Registered
1,263 Posts
[quote author=tigermack link=topic=135406.msg2915070#msg2915070 date=1233867071]
I was told that without enough camber (at least -3), the A6 does not last very long.
[/quote]

Only if you over drive the car. I have at least 40 runs on my A6's and can see getting into the 80 run range if I take care of them Granted, they will probably be heat cycled out by then, but I'll use them until they cord. If you average 6 runs per event, that's about a season (13 events)

A lot of it also depends on the surface. Concrete will tend to chew up tires faster than asphalt. Run on sealed asphalt and you might never wear the tires out.

If the OP is running 15's then a 225/50R15 would be a good size. Slightly shorter than stock and will fit on a 6" rim.

·
Registered
1,263 Posts
[quote author=tigermack link=topic=135406.msg2915135#msg2915135 date=1233868113]
Isn't stock wheel 6.5", though?
[/quote]

15x6 on the base i model.

·
Registered