Mazda3 Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the Mazda3 forum, and I have been reading dozens of posts on all different sorts of topics that I've had questions on. This forum is really great and I thank everyone for all of their input!

I'm seriously thinking about buying a 3 within the next few months, and I have a question regarding the automatic sport-shift system. Does using the sport-shift add "useless" wear and tear to the transmission? Will overuse cause a shortened life of the transmission?

I figure that they (Mazda) would have designed the transmission to handle the shifting, and I know that the computer has rev-limiters, etc. to prevent you from destroying the engine... But I'm still mixed up on if frequent use will shorten the transmission life. I plan on using the sport-shift mode extensively, and I plan on keeping the car for quite a while.

Thanks in advance for your responses.

·
Registered
14,337 Posts
Nah, the sport shift is just an automatic. Just like putting your auto on your normal car to the 3 or 2 spot... just makes it a little more versatile. It doesn't actually shift right hwen you tell it to, it shifts at the next safe point for it.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
MZ6ZoomZoom said:
Just like putting your auto on your normal car to the 3 or 2 spot...
I've heard that "manually shifting" an automatic causes problems/wear and tear on automatic transmissions... Am I just listening to stupid people? My mechanical intuition tells me that it won't cause undue stress on the transmission.

·
Registered
14,337 Posts
Meh... I've heard that too, I think it's BS.

Regardless, the sports shift does not put undue wear & tear on the car (well, besides the fact that you're probably shifting later than you would otherwise).

·
Registered
452 Posts
SportShift is based on AT tranny.....and it will protect the engine and tranmission....it won't let u red line the car!