Mazda3 Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
my mazda has recently started making a very loud vibrating noise from front passenger side. It sounds like it's below dash board,at first i kept checking glove compartment. if driving on new or smooth surface its ok but the rougher the road surface the worse the vibration gets. Ive been monitoring this for a couple of weeks now and its definatley getting worse, but twice in the last week we've had heavy rain during night and noise didn't occur untill roads began to dry up ??
i was thinking it's a wheel or suspension issue, but then i'm no mechanic ??

Now, tonight when driving home my air bag/front seat belt pretensioner system warning light came on and stayed on, could this be linked ???

·
Registered
769 Posts

·
Registered
658 Posts
[quote author=Zoomba link=topic=134138.msg2883785#msg2883785 date=1232669498]
EDIT: Are you talking about the light to the left of the cig lighter? That should always be on unless someone with enough weight is sitting there.
[/quote]

Not true. It only comes on if there's a certain (but negligible) amount of weight on the passenger seat. If you set, say, a heavy backpack on there or something, that light comes on to warn you that it detects weight on the seat, but the airbag is not turned on. The airbag is only activated upon it recognizing a certain (substantial) weight level, as to prevent unnecessary deployment, and to theoretically prevent idiots from strapping their 6 month old in the front passenger seat and thinking "they're safe" because of the airbags.

However, if there's nothing (or nobody) on the seat, or if there's enough weight on the seat, that light should never be on.

·
Registered
769 Posts
Oops, Chaos is right. As a matter of fact I almost always have my book bag on the passenger seat which led me to believe that the light was always supposed to be on.

·
Registered
89 Posts