Mazda3 Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

· Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright let me identify myself as a noob. I just traded in my sweet Mustang for this BEAUTIFUL '06 3 GT. I love this [email protected]$*ing car! I know enough about cars to get myself around under the hood, (oil changes, brakes, altenators, fuel pump, etc.) but I'm new to the mods. So my hobby before I bought this wonderful car was computers. I hung out on the computer boards and can now build a top of the line system for pennies. Now my hobby is this car, and i'm on a budget.

My question is this: If I can only buy a piece at a time what order should I go in for the best performance? Obviously the CAI first. But once I get my tax check my wife is allowing me to get one thing for the car, so what next? Do I go w/ a custom exhaust, a piggy back, an aluminum flywheel (which I really, really, really want)? I'm eventually going to do everything I can w/ the exception of turbo, because by the time I can afford that I can afford to by a Speed3. SO WHAT ORDER SHOULD I GO IN?

Thanks guys!

· Registered
4,484 Posts
Well after the CAI, I would go lowering springs. Will make the car look better and give you alot better handling. Hey and look over the Buy/Sell forum. Nothing like used parts. Have my items are used and couldn't be happier.

· Registered
9,374 Posts
well first off, the goddamn speed3 is NOT the end all be all of turbos for the 3. there are people here with the hiboost turbo on their regular 3s making more power than ms3s. the ms3 is a great car but if you want more than stock power you're going to have to spend another 3 grand on upgrades. might as well just upgrade your current 3 for the same amount of money and be faster doing it.

ok now that im off my "ms3 vs turbo3" soapbox, i'll answer your main question.