Mazda3 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
A few questions:

So a turbo timer works by just keeping the ignition on after the key is removed. I know if I have the engine running, I cannot use my keyfob to lock the doors. Will I be able to lock the doors with the fob if the car is still running via the timer?

When I get a timer, I have no need to see a display or anything. I just want it to do it's thing. Only requirement is that it have some sort of "auto mode" whereby it adjusts the length of idling time to how hard the car has been driven. I see many use alt. ripple to log the RPM over the last few minutes. So my question is can it just be mounted in the engine bay or under the dash - somewhere out of sight? Anything that requires monitoring?

What cutting is required, generally speaking? Ignition wire, some key sense wire, parking brake wire, power and ground. Any I'm missing? Are they all under the dash or will I need to run wires all around my car?

Lastly, what does everyone recommend? I see Apexi, Blitz, Greddy, HKS... I don't need one with the breakout boost gauge. I'll be getting a standalone analog needle gauge for that.

I'm kind of leaning on this one for it's simplicity: http://www.streetunit.com/product_p/405-a021.htm

Thanks all
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,650 Posts
4 wires. You just press the lock button inside the car and then leave instead of the fob

I have the apexi all in one, its so slim it fits above the dimmer/dsc switches
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
So I bought the Apexi. What 4 wires? I'll be doing it tomorrow. Green/yellow = ignition? The timer shows blue IG2 and green IG1. Also red for +12V ignition. Any idea of which wire in the console is 12V and a good one to use? Which one is the parking brake? I won't be using the Rich/Lean indicator. Sound kinda dumb.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,593 Posts
[quote author=edrection link=topic=71003.msg1291462#msg1291462 date=1174918335]
just trying to help others doing something stupid like you did.
[/quote]

Awesome! The turbo timer topic has been discussed many times, is it needed? probably not? does it hurt anything? probably not. Does it give the OP some peace of mind? yeah, probably... Does your post here help anything? nope... kthx bye!

I don't have a wiring diagram to help you OP..but good luck.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,537 Posts
[quote author=Mellman link=topic=71003.msg1291520#msg1291520 date=1174920414]
[quote author=edrection link=topic=71003.msg1291462#msg1291462 date=1174918335]
just trying to help others doing something stupid like you did.
[/quote]
I don't have a wiring diagram to help you OP..but good luck.
[/quote]

sorry my post cant be as helpful as yours. kbye!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
Well I don't know how I missed it earlier but I found a post by Nutari that answered my question pretty well.
I am aware of the water cooling but it only runs for a short amount of time after shufoff. If I'm ripping on it at the end of a trip and the turbo gets quite hot I want a little more time for it to chill out. Now I have no data to back this up but again comes the peace of mind aspect.

So edrection, have you been contemplating "doing something stupid" as well?

 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,117 Posts
[quote author=edrection link=topic=71003.msg1291524#msg1291524 date=1174920488]
[quote author=Mellman link=topic=71003.msg1291520#msg1291520 date=1174920414]
[quote author=edrection link=topic=71003.msg1291462#msg1291462 date=1174918335]
just trying to help others doing something stupid like you did.
[/quote]
I don't have a wiring diagram to help you OP..but good luck.
[/quote]

sorry my post cant be as helpful as yours. kbye!
[/quote]

Why are Canadians eh-holes?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,537 Posts
[quote author=brecker link=topic=71003.msg1292140#msg1292140 date=1174934675]
[quote author=edrection link=topic=71003.msg1291524#msg1291524 date=1174920488]
[quote author=Mellman link=topic=71003.msg1291520#msg1291520 date=1174920414]
[quote author=edrection link=topic=71003.msg1291462#msg1291462 date=1174918335]
just trying to help others doing something stupid like you did.
[/quote]
I don't have a wiring diagram to help you OP..but good luck.
[/quote]

sorry my post cant be as helpful as yours. kbye!
[/quote]

Why are Canadians eh-holes?
[/quote]

its a joke
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
328 Posts
Jokes? What are those? We don't have them here in the Great White North.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
116 Posts
spuld up im in the same boat as you i bought that same timer and dont have a wire diagram to wire it up so if you do yours soon can you do a how-to on it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
759 Posts
[quote author=Mellman link=topic=71003.msg1291520#msg1291520 date=1174920414]
[quote author=edrection link=topic=71003.msg1291462#msg1291462 date=1174918335]
just trying to help others doing something stupid like you did.
[/quote]

Awesome! The turbo timer topic has been discussed many times, is it needed? probably not? does it hurt anything? probably not. Does it give the OP some peace of mind? yeah, probably... Does your post here help anything? nope... kthx bye!

[/quote]

+f'n 1
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
642 Posts
A friend told me that it is not necessary for the MS3 to get a turbo timer but it doesn't hurt to get one either. Do most of you guys w/ ms3 have this?
 
1 - 20 of 23 Posts
Top