Mazda3 Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,
I have been browsing this forum for a while now and ended up finally joining. :D

I'm currently 15 and turning 16 in 4 months, so you know where I am going with this...
Yep I'm browsing for cars. I have been working for the last 8 months and have $5150 saved up. I am currently in South Florida but moving to North Georiga, and with that my parents have considered matching whatever I have saved for a car :D.

Ever since I first saw the 3 in concept as the new Protege (spelling?) I have had a obession with it, or most Mazda's for that fact :lol:, I have been dreaming of the 3 as my first car for years. My mom had a 91 RX-7 which we recently sold, but I got to learn stick on it before hand. My dad also had a 2 Gen RX-7 to race with in SCCA.

My question out of all this is, could I realisticly afford a used 3, and also afford the insurrance? Is it classified as a "sports car"? My backup idea is going with a 2 Gen RX-7 but finding one that has not been runed into the ground is difficult. Also having a 3 would be more reliable as a first car.

I guess anything is going to be better than the 02 dodge caravan I have been practicing driving on :lol:
Thanks!

·
Registered
13,729 Posts
Your best bet is to remain under your parents insurance (you can't open your own policy since you're under age). Be sure to keep some funds for maintence, gas and so on. I would think the rx7 would cost more to maintain.

Weigh out all your options and how much everything will cost. Can you afford to pay for everything every month and still survive?

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Wow quick reply!

Yea I would be under my parents policy. From what my mom experianced, her RX-7 required nothing other than basic mateniance. Mabey she had good luck, and it would suck if I got into a money pit attempting to keep the "Rex" running.