Mazda3 Forums banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I Have been looking at MS3's for awhile and i love them, There is one around here that is amazing. I have a few questions.
Please Don't flame im still a Noob at this.

What would be a good point to build the engine? (HP Wise)
I want it as a DD but im looking to run low 13's
As far as Insurance goes, would it be cheaper than a 03 evo to insure for a 18 year old?
If i build an engine is it possible to break 500hp? Or is tuning lacking for the MS3?

·
Registered
210 Posts
300whp is a good point to stop if you want a reliable DD (full bolt+tune)
with good launches you could probably hit low 13s w this in most altitudes.. with slicks 12s
Yes, much cheaper, WRX/EVO have a stigma attached to em, making insurance sky high, especially for younger drivers
no you can't go much over mid 300s without a full rebuild (unless you want to play the stakes and hope your shit doesnt explode), and even then high 300s is the cap right now reliably on the speed3 with a big turbo (please exclude bogus dynos we all know are fake)

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yeah i figured they would be alot cheaper.
I need something like a hatch because im in a band and I need room which an evo wont cut.

Thanks for the advice. I figue 300 WHP is good enough. Later on if i decide to build i will.

·
Registered
1,848 Posts
evidence pretty much hit it right on the spot

you can def hit 300whp/320wqt and low 13s without going big turbo or engine build....that should be enough for most people...

if you want more, you might want to consider an srt-4...haha...not tryin to hate on the ms3 or anything...but our engines aren't the strongest either...our cars are designed for complete balance....engine, handling, styling, versatility, etc

·
Registered
71 Posts