Mazda3 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,719 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Looking for your advise here:

Yesterday at noon I was tagged doing 48 in a 30 by EP police.
I was stupid and basically admitted guilt. (I'm a noob to tickets and police)
I have a clean record up to now, so what should I do?

Pay the ticket ($142) or go to court and try to go on probation for it so it doens't hit my record...?

·
Registered
390 Posts
Well I read this whole report on how to squeeze your way out of these.

Tips:
1. Keep Postponing the court date somehow. If the officer is a no show the fine is dropped.
2. Show up very well dressed.
3. If there is doubt where the officer was (hiding) and the tactics used to stop you bring that up.
4. Ask for the officers license to operate the speed gun. (needs this to be credible reading)
5. Ask for the maintenance records of the speed gun. (needs to be up to date)
6. Don't admit fault in court, even though you did on the street which is why you postpone so he forgets you.
7. If all else fails just ask for a lesser fine or probation.

Just look up some more stuff on the web, there is always an answer on the web.

·
Registered
2,826 Posts
Agreed. If your record is clean, you can almost always get off with court fees+probation. Typically it's the standard one year no same or similar. As far as the cop goes, you were right to admit guilt. If you hadn't the first thing the cop would have done is yanked out out of the car and tagged you for every sinlge little piddly BS he could have. And your ticket would have been triple. I've admitted to speeding probably a dozen times, and I have 4 tickets, all of which I MORE than deserved. The rest the cop dropped because I was cool with him. EP cops are douchbags I will say that. But anynow go fight it. It'll probably be worth your time.

·
Premium Member
2,719 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
[quote author=mndsm link=topic=65025.msg1115032#msg1115032 date=1166655620]