Mazda3 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
822 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know this forum is already littered with newbies asking questions, but i've searched and searched for 2 days on the internet without and success.

I'm completely new to caraudio and would not call myself an audiophile. I'm simply looking for an affordable upgrade from stock (No more than $500CDN for all speakers). I will not be adding amps/subs in the future. I just want a better quality/cleaner sound with a bit more bass.

With that said, i like to stick with quality brands as i love my car and don't want to put poor quality components in it. I understand even within a big brand name, there are several trim levels.

I'm new to this board. I drive a 2005 Mazda3 sedan. Recently a car audio store had its boxing day sale and i acted spontaneously and purchased 2 sets of speakers (front/back)

All this happened so fast that i didn't even get the chance to do my research before hand, the store owner advised me that i can buy them and have a 100% refund policy if i find that i don't like them before installing.

Stock OEM speaker size are 6x8" for front/back door and tweeters in the pillar (i have the S model)

I was sold (as this was what he had on sale/stock) 6.5" Component fronts and 5.25" 2-Way Coaxial in the rear.

I was sold MTX TX6001 thunder axe separates for the front

http://www.mtx.com/caraudio/products/speakers/separates.cfm

and MTX TDX5202 thunder dome-axials for the rear

http://www.mtx.com/caraudio/products/speakers/dome_axials.cfm

What my concern is, are these good speakers? I tried researching on the internet about these speakers and found very few consumer reviews/ratings on them. I know MTX is a reputable brand for amps/subs, but how are their speakers? Am i being sold and made to believe these are good as that is what the store had on sale? The backs are smaller than the fronts, is that ok? i've read the rears are just fillers.