Mazda3 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
141 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Where the hell do all these scratches come from? That must be the softest piece of aluminum ever since my bare clean skin apparently scratches the hell out of the material. I thought it was likely to be my own problem until I started studying up on some of the short throw shifter threads....lotsa pics of scratched OEM MS3 shifter knobs out there.......

·
Registered
136 Posts
mine too and my buddy's as well. i think its the layer of whatever it is on that ring wears off over time and appears as scratches.

·
Registered
13,452 Posts
SO IS MINE!! I figured out what it is from! Do any of you ever have female passangers? Mine got scratched from my girlfriend shifting gears for me (I KNOW, I KNOW). It's from her rings.

·
Registered
95 Posts
Mine is scratched to hell, because I
1) shut the car off
2) take the keys out of the ignition
3) put the car in gear
4) get out
5) and put the keys in my pocket.

My keys are in my right hand during step 3

Andrew

·
Registered
141 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
So it's common as I suspected. Odd. I can't imagine where they come from. I don't have the keys in my hand, my wife can't drive stick, I don't wear a ring on my right hand. Granted, it's a small thing but hell, some companies make intake manifolds out of plastic these days that stuff must be tougher than the alum ring on the MS3 shift knob. Oh well, it is what it is....

·
Registered
165 Posts
[quote author=toolcrib link=topic=137185.msg2960317#msg2960317 date=1235575013]
Mine is scratched to hell, because I
1) shut the car off
2) take the keys out of the ignition
3) put the car in gear
4) get out
5) and put the keys in my pocket.

My keys are in my right hand during step 3

Andrew
[/quote]

Exactly :)

·
Registered
2,790 Posts
[quote author=i love jdm hoes link=topic=137185.msg2959239#msg2959239 date=1235525219]