Mazda3 Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Going out to see a used 2014 s GT hatchback tomorrow.

It's a certified pre owned with only 3k miles on it. Listed sales price is $23,900. Overall that seems like a pretty good deal, but it's a little over my budget I'd like to spend.

What would you think is a reasonable offer to make, like $1k off? Won't know till I ask, just haven't bought a car in 13 years so don't know how much people still haggle these days.

·
Super Moderator
6,350 Posts
Depends how desperate you are for that one. If you have options/time, then tell them what you want to spend, and if they won't do it walk away... they might call back.

I've never bought a new/relatively new car so I'm no expert but I would not be happy if I wasn't getting at least 1k off. The only people that pay sticker price, or sticker price -500 are people that get sucked in to the sales peoples traps.

For example, person does a lease return on a car that is worth 10k privately. The dealership will pay then about 2-3k for it. That is 7-8k worth of profits... so they're getting a hell of a deal either way.

If they won't give you the price you want, alternatively you could negotiate for extras... parts/options, oil changes, winter tires etc. They generally respond more favorably to that (because they lose far less money).

·
Registered
243 Posts
In my experience, over the last five years, there isn't much room to negotiate price, at least how I use to do so. If we got a link to the car, I'm sure we could point out some things to use when negotiating. I wouldn't settle for less than 1.5K off, but I am a ruthless car buyer. You have to be prepared to walk away.

The car only has 3K miles on it. I would start with asking for $3K off. I'd meet them at my 1.5K, and then I would counter with a free extended warranty. EDIT: On top of my 1.5K off, and make it bumper to bumper.