Mazda3 Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
469 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Went to a home show few weeks ago and noticed the tell-tale rubber ribbons throughout the parking lot. That's when it clicked that the Sacramento SCCA Chapter runs at the San Joaquin Fairgrounds.

I'd love to get my 3 out there and see what we can do. I've done some karting, so not a total novice at tracks, but I've never been to an Autocross event so maybe you guys can give me a primer... don't want to show up and gum up the works, you know.

What do you need to do to your car for inspection?
Where do you go first time you get there (aside from the toilet). Etc.
I noticed the AutoX is a series, can you just show up a couple times a year and run or do you need to get in at the beginning?

Huge thanks in advance.
(Any other central valley folks running in SCCA?)

·
Registered
513 Posts
Hey boxer,

Here's a few tips.

Inspection:
Remove everything loose from the car. All floor mat's, the trunk mat's, the spare tire cover. (You can leave the spare in, or remove it either @ the autoX or before you leave for the AutoX).

Make sure there aren't ANY loose items. No beer can's, keg's, cd's, etc. Anything in a storage that could fly around and break should be taken out. G forces really toss stuff around in an AutoX. I had a "hat", yes a hat, fly off a seat and smack me during a turn.

Make sure there aren't any leaks fluid wise. Make sure you don't have any outstanding problems with the car (missing engine).

Things to bring:
Tire pressure gauge (a MUST)
Water (Or you'll die)
*If you want to make new friends, bring extra water*
Sunglasses
Hat
Sunscreen (Your on a parking lot all day with no shade)
Other Mazda3 owners (to get them addicted)
Portable air compressor (the kind that works off the cig lighter socket works well and is tiny).
Misc Tools (in case something goes loose, or just to beat murphy's law)

Things to Do:
Make sure you have gas.