Mazda3 Forums banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So here is the story, I have been driving for 3 years now, not exacly a lot, but not a newbie too. I do not speed, I do not tailgate, I've never been in an accident, I've never scratched Mazda's 17 inch alloy on a curb, never cut someone up in traffic and never raced from a red light. And I absolutely baby my new used car.
But, when it comes to parking, I admit it, I absolutely, spectacularly, epicly fail. When i park in front of my work I get comments like " Why do you even bother? ". I am embarraced from my toes to my ears every time I have to park and there is someone watching.
I am asking you, if there is any tips, maybe little refference points on a car or on the road that I can use to park my car better.

P.S.
My old used car was a 96 chevy cavalier 5 sp. I learned to park it backwards pretty well ( 1 meter away from the spot, middle of the car 2.5 spots in front of the parking spot I am parking into, steering whell at full lock and gas) that worked in a sedan, but now that i have a hatch... can't see anything out of my rear window.

·
Registered
95 Posts
If you park really really bad, people might think it's intentional... like if you take up two spaces sideways in a parking lot.. :whistle2:

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Yes, and then U'll find your car with a nice paint strip across the whole side made by some idiot with a key. No thank you :)

·
Registered
20,395 Posts
when going in nose first, I tend to turn in and aim for the center of the spot. Just treat it like you would any other corner. I usually put the curb just under my drivers side mirror so I won't get caught on one and rip my bumper off.

·
Registered
31 Posts
how exactly do you mess up? I mean are you crooked, too far out, park with yellow line under your car?

There are a few things you can try.