Mazda3 Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
146 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I have these nice blue LEDs in the footwells that i had tapped into the circuit for the headlights (I literally just tapped the red wire going directly into the left headlight. Well I decided that I wanted the LEDs to stay on when I have the headlights off but the orange marker lights on. (So they would be on with both just the markers and with the headlights.)

So i took it off the headlight circuit and tapped it into the red wire for the markers...went to turn them on and suddenly one of them flashed green and they both went out. Ah! They don't look like the bulbs burned, they are still clear and look OK.

I'm no expert... what do you think happened? They were working fine before, the only thing i changed was what wire they were tapped into.

·
Registered
16,618 Posts
I read your post twice and I'm confused.

A. Do you want them on with only the parking lights?
B. Do you want them on with only the head lights?
C. Do you want them on with both the parking and head lights?

·
Registered
146 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
[quote author=danielj link=topic=135158.msg2908909#msg2908909 date=1233679267]
I read your post twice and I'm confused.

A. Do you want them on with only the parking lights?
B. Do you want them on with only the head lights?
C. Do you want them on with both the parking and head lights?
[/quote]

No
No
Yes I want them on with both the parking and the head lights. Sorry yeah I should have proofread that $%&# lol

·
Registered
16,618 Posts
Then tap into an interior power source such as the ashtray lighter. This way there only on with the parking and headlights.

This is how most of us wire them up.

·
Registered
146 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Yeah my interior LEDs lights turned green. Yeah I didn't even think about wiring it up internally. What's the best way to get to that ash tray wire? Taking out the radio?

·
Registered
16,618 Posts