Mazda3 Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
408 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK so I am new to the whole "racing/turbo" part of modding. I have done plenty of work on my jeep including lift, intake, throttle body and other engine mods....but all this talk about the BOV and such is confusing me. I will be getting my annual bonus in a month or so and would like to do some mods to my new ms3. Things I am looking for include.....that cool sound turbos make (you know that kinda hissing sound) is that what a BOV does??? And of course more horses.....I asume the easiest and cheapest is an cold air intake.....now what of these are covered?? and do you have to buy mazdaspeed parts for these?? if so, where do you get them and can you install them yourself??
thanks for the help from a newbie

·
Registered
256 Posts
The turbo "sounds" are either the turbo spooling, external wastegate dumping to atmosphere, or the blow off valve letting off air.

Since we have internal wastegates, you will only be able to hear 2 of them.

To hear the turbo spool more, you'd buy an aftermarket intake or filter. A bov that is not plastic (like our stock one) will help with the blow off noise, even recirculated back into the intake will make some noise.

Anything not stock that causes a problem will void the warranty. You can buy a Mazdaspeed intake for the MS3 soon but its not available yet.

Hope this helps.

·
Registered
408 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
cool thanks for the reply.....so if I get mazdaspeed parts will that void the warranty if something goes wrong?? also, what are the chances of a bov or a cai causing problems???
thanks

·
Registered
256 Posts
BOV is very slim that it would cause problems if it was routed back into the intake tract...however Mazda techs can really make a good story and link a problem to the bov if determined enough.