Mazda3 Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone my name is Tom and this is my first time on your forum. I am actually a member of the torontomazda3 forum, because it is close to Buffalo, NY where I reside. This past Thursday, January 18th I had the engine in my 3 seize up because the plastic oil filter housing had cracked and sprayed out all the oil on the expressway. When the dealership had investigated they claimed it was my fault, because in changing my own oil and using an oil filter adjustable band wrench the wrench had supposedly weakened the housing causing it to crack. Then they proceeded to tell me they had a bulletin at the dealership explaining this issue. So I asked why I hadn't received this info when I always come in there for my filters. They said it was just sent to the dealerships. So to make a long story short, I have followed all the quidelines and paperwork for the warranty and never had a problem. Now something happens and they want me to pay about $9,000.00 to have a new engine put in, that's not right. So I am in early discussions with Mazda to get the issue resolved, but if these discussions fall through I might need help from anyone that this housing problem has happened to. I have been informed through some of the forums that this has occured in several cases. If these others wouldn't mind giving out their names and cities of location for a sort of petition showing that I am not the only one this has happened to, would be greatly appreciated. I want to express to Mazda that they have an issue with this part and their communication methods so that they may understand our concern.

Thank you,

Sincerely,

Tom Was
Buffalo, NY

·
Registered
753 Posts
Mazda's engineers should be ashamed of this design.

·
Registered
305 Posts
woooow! Real sorry to hear about this.

I'd get a good attorney if Mazda doesn't warranty this.