Mazda3 Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Does anyone have some sources of information on the efficiency of low rpm wot (vs higher rpm and not wot) and associated (IF ANY) mechanical considerations (issues with bearings, rods, other).

Several good articles on support of WOT and low RPM for best efficiency.

http://autospeed.com/cms/A_110216/article.html
http://www3.fs.cvut.cz/web/fileadmin/documents/12241-BOZEK/publikace/2007/2007_108_01.pdf

are there other definitive papers that you are aware on durability concerns with WOT low RPM? With or withour turbos such as MS3.

THANKS!

·
Registered
1,148 Posts
Okay, I'm not an engineer and I did not attempt to read and fully comprehend all the info in the links. But I'll take a crack at it on an inexpert level.

By going to WOT at a low RPM with turbocharged engine you're putting a lot of force per power stroke on the internals, at least in higher gears. Presumably, Mazda has taken precautions against people doing this when they decided to mass market this engine, but in the short term there has to be an significantly increased chance of cracking something. And long term you're almost certainly reducing the longevity of the internals.

I think you would eventually encounter many of the same problems as people who push the envelope on manual boost control.

·
Registered
191 Posts
You also might want to consider that some people, mostly 07 MS3's as far as I can tell have issues with WOT in 5 or 6th at low revs. This is because our High pressure direct injection fuel pump is mechanically driven, off of the camshafts. This can cause too low of fuel pressure if the engine goes into boost. This results in a lean mixture, which results in predetonation. This is very bad both for the engine's life, and the efficiency, as the engine will respond by retarding timing.

I have not felt this problem, but its pretty widespread as far as I can tell.

·
Registered
57 Posts