Mazda3 Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone, I have been thinking about opening up a life insurance plan and I wanted to hear any opinions you may have on how to proceed. I am 23 years old and I am married, my wife is 24. Now my questions are mostly on who are reputable companies to shop with, and any advice you can give based on your experiences or lessons you may have learned. Thanks!

·
Registered
17,662 Posts
Buy term life insurance only. Cash value or whole life policies are a ripoff, but they make insurance salesmen a lot of money so they'll be pushed quite a bit.

There are many online quote services to use, or you can just find a local agent and meet face to face.

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks for the replies, I have been reading into it a bit and I do agree that term life seems to fit my needs perfectly. We do not have life insurance, I am a full-time student at the moment and my wife is working per-diem as a Registered Nurse. Her hospital only offers her health and vision coverage since she is technically classified as a part-time employee even though she works full-time hours. This is why I am trying to look into an individual term-life insurance plan.

·
Registered
9,451 Posts
Frankly why are you looking at life insurance right now then?

If you aren't financially contributing and you don't have kids, why? I hate to be crass, but if you died right this second, would your wife be any worse off financially?

In my case when I was married the answer would have been yes, she'd have a big ole mortgage without my income to support it. Now the answer is even easier with us having 2 children. Before the house and the kids I wouldn't have had life insurance if it wasn't employer offered and dirt cheap.