Mazda3 Forums banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
266 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I am thinking of getting new rims for my 06 Mazda 3 sedan.
Here is a picture of my ride.

I have a couple of questions first, so I am looking for some help. I've already looked through the FAQ's and how to guides, but I've still got some questions as I am a rookie when it comes to wheels.

The wheels I have picked out are Stern ST-1 Face III Beast - Gloss Black
18" x 8"
5/114.3 Bolt pattern
48 Offset

From this place http://www.1010tires.com/
They are selling for $249CDN. This seems to be the best price I've found.
I am fairly sure they will fit, as other forum members have this wheel.

Do I need to buy news lugs and wheel locks? Or will the stock ones work/look good with the new rims?
Should I buy this Universal Wheel Installation kit (Tuner nuts) from the same site?
http://www.1010tires.com/accessories.asp?pid=INSTNUT%2DTUNER

Tires
Most people seem to go with a 225/40/18 tire?
I have the stock 17's and they have a profile of 205 correct?
So this will give me the same profile as stock and it won't mess up my speedometer etc?

Any other tips or advice would be appreciated.
Thanks for your help.
Boneyard

·
Registered
9,374 Posts
you will need new lugs....wheel locks are up to you

the lugs you need are: 12mm pitch 1.5" length

225/40 is the best size...your speedo will be off by 1.8mph i believe.

·
Registered
761 Posts
[quote author=the415 link=topic=72498.msg1279120#msg1279120 date=1174413939]

[/quote]

Why do you need new lugs? What is different between aftermarket and stock lugs if you don't care about locks?

You need hub centric rings also so check if they will send you some with the wheels otherwise you will have to buy a set. They will have them anywhere you can buy rims(dicount tire) or you can buy them online for like $35. Aftermarket wheels come with a larger hole than the hub of our car and these rings take up the space and prevent wobbling at highway speeds.