Mazda3 Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to lighting mods. I hear there are LED clusters you can use as direct replacements for incandescent bulbs. Do these last longer or glow brighter than regular incandescents? Anyone know where to get them? If they are worth it, I am considering using LEDs in place of the brake and signal lights. I'm going to stay away from the "questionable" colors to avoid getting pulled over.

·
Registered
14,337 Posts
They fire faster... they're also expensive and not always brighter.

Personally I just don't like hte look of most LED brakelights.

·
Registered
984 Posts
I like the Cadillac's brake lights.

·
Registered
168 Posts
MZ6ZoomZoom said:
They fire faster... they're also expensive and not always brighter.

Personally I just don't like hte look of most LED brakelights.

Hey MZ6ZoomZoom,

I looked in the manual and it stated that we need 7443 bulbs for the back brake lights, and I was thinking about switching them out with 7443 LED bulbs. I've also heard somewhere that because the LEDs require less power than standard bulbs, that our light sensors might not accept the LEDs and cause a warning light on our vehicle to show that there is a burnt bulb when there isn't one. Also, if you switch out the turn signals with LEDs it will cause the signals to blink very fast as if the bulbs needed to be replace. I hope I'm making myself clear here, but I don't know how else to describe it. In other words, the LED bulbs will work but the light sensors will make the computer think that there is something wrong.

Can you provide any thoughts or references to this issue with LED bulbs?

Thanks in advance,
Spencer

·
Registered
77 Posts
Because LED use so low energy the car will think a bulb is out. Depending on the car and its warning alarms many things can happen. The bulb might flash quickly and / or produce a lamp out warning code.