Mazda3 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
1,842 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
FWD and with all that torque steer.....the reason i ask becuz my ms3 is basicly my weekend warriors car....and this is my first year going to track and soloII......what do i need to pay attention to....any pointer?

·
Registered
1,522 Posts
torque steer...... what torque steer ?? it is almost non existant. the tires break loose long before the cars gets a chance to have torque steer. i think it will make a great track car... i think that was what mazda had in mind when they built it. my advice.....keep the revs between 3k-6k and it should haul ass around any track !!

·
Registered
2,710 Posts
yeah i have only had torque steer like twice but only when i have the steering wheel slightly turned and i put the hammo down!. and track car? hell yeah. all that structural reinforcement, lower stance, etc. will smoke damn near any compact that wants to challenge you except maybe the hardcore evo's and sti's. i have taken this thing around some corners pretty quick and it sticks to the road really well. just get a little bit wider tire/rim with a better tire and you should tear that track up!

·
Registered
5,723 Posts
should be a solid autox car as well (solo, previously called solo2)
if you plan to race with scca rules I suggest you stay with it in a stock class, if you put it into street touring you will be up against sti's and evos with similar mods and unless you can drive the shit outta the car good luck being in the same timezone (however it is possible!) and forget about going into a mod class unless you really know wtf you are doing.
read up on the rules before you mod the car or you may find yourself sorry that you did a particular mod and now you are in a class you have little chance of winning.

·
Registered
2,062 Posts
get that suspension upgrade from MAzda. read some review about how this dude was going 20 to 30mph faster into turns with it.