Mazda3 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, so I have a mazda 3 2.3L 5 door and I've never really done any interior modding of my cars before and I got the ipod link from therpmstore.com for christmas. I wanna install it myself if possible and run it either into the ash tray or somewhere else thats hidden. Anyone have experience with this and/or have more detailed notes on how to do it? I've already done a search and read through the installation threads but they are all autos and I have a manual, anything different? Again, I think I just need some reassurance and ideas cause I'm new to this stuff.

http://www.mazda3forums.com/index.php?topic=7671 <--- ive been reading this one and the other one with the picture walkthrough.

Edit : and how the hell do I disassemble the dash. the last picture I saw just said to pull on it, It seems as if that little carbon fiber holder is gonna break.

·
Registered
611 Posts
You will be fine man. Its really not that hard- and once you do it you'll be glad you did because you will have seen whats below the surface of your car- and youll just wanna do even more ;p

That carbon dash piece is always a source of angst it seems- Gimme till tomorrow morning and Ill take a picture of it removed so you can understand how its retained- thats the best way to show you how to remove it. Basically though, you do pull it straight towards you to pop its clips out- the only catch is the far right side has what looks like an L on it- it opens out to the right, which means you slight it towards the left to get it out. You will understand when you see a picture.

Theres not going to be much difference in AT / MT - you will need to retain your wires considerably more carefully in an MT to keep them out of the way, but thats really it.