Mazda3 Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
5,673 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm fairly new to the aftermarket performance parts and I am planning to do some modifications to get more power out of my mz3 2.3L. Where should I begin?

CAI? Exhaust? and will it fubar the engine computer sensors?

thanks. :wink:

·
Registered
1,089 Posts
wait for a CAI...seems to me the mazda6i gets a lot of power from the cai....and an exhaust i guess is all i can think of so far..

·
Registered
37 Posts
All these aftermarket mods will take some time before they hit the market. As for them messing with computer sensors, thats the exact problem Injen is having with the Mazda6. The CAI produced by them is messing with the A/F ratio, thus throwing a CEL. By summer, you should start seeing aftermarket mods show up.

·
Registered
5,673 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
If I go for the exhaust, should I get a whole kit like :

http://www.corksport.com/main.php3?primNavIndex=0&mainURL=/store/index.php3?cat=293618

or can I install an HKS universal muffler? If I go with an universal muffler I guess I will have to do lots of modification to the line because of the stock muffler being placed in the middle of the line instead of the back of the line like most cars. Am I wrong?

Or am I better just to wait for a specific mz3 HKS or other company's kit?

I want to had some ponies but I also miss the sound of my modded VW which had plenty of parts available. Some people like quiet. I don't want LOUD but now is definitely to quiet for me.

·
Registered
2,756 Posts
Definately wait till a company does their homework on the piping size and flow characteristics.

HKS, GReddy and Apexi will make aftermarket stuff for the 3. I hear so far that GReddy has a turbo kit in the works for the M6, which maybe dropped for the R&D on the 3.

·
Registered
251 Posts
funkyfreshmonke said: