Mazda3 Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
369 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Let me start by saying I am a NOOB to car audio in a very literal sense! I have never done any upgrades to my car stereos, yet I love music.. hmm ignorance is bliss I guess. Having said that if I am going in the wrong direction, ordering the wrong things, or ordering from the wrong people please let me know. Keep in mind I do need to order from companies that accept paypal..

Ok after getting my Grom Ipod Integration in, and not being happy with the functionality of it an the need to buy mounts, etc. to see readout.. not to mention it is acting up.... after searching and searching for an OEM style Navi System, I have concluded that my best option is to go with a Double Din Navigation CD Player. That way I don't have to buy all the different components I want its all there.
I found this the cheapest I have seen... http://www.onlinecarstereo.com/CarAudio/ProductDetail.aspx?ProductID=20189

Here come the questions...
1. This is the one with the really nice Ipod interface correct? All I really want is to play cds/ipod/navigation.. if it plays videos from my ipod
perfect (does it?) if it plays DVDs cool I don't think this model does.. I don't need DVD - this website is not very descriptive...
2. The Ipod connector - it lists Pioneer CD-IU200VM on the website.. reviews say this does not charge Ipod.. true? I only see that one on
the website.. - I have a 5th gen Ipod btw.
3. Using factory steering wheel controls. I can't find the adapter on there anyone know the # - says I need a Pioneer ND-G500 amplifier to
integrate into factory stereo.. true?
4. Love the dash panel on Crutchfield anywhere else you can get it or is it Crutchfield exclusive? Haven't decided on what I am going to do
about the top screen, but nice to have the option of a cubby if I want.

Is that all I need?:
Unit, Ipod connection, Steering Wheel adapter, DD dash mount

Any other recommendations?