Mazda3 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
2,202 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
*Please remember that if you do this mod, it is at your own risk.*

I'm fairly new to car stuff and was looking for easy things to do.

Decided to do this after seeing how clean the Parking Light Delete looked on the 1st Gen MZ3's. The bulb is a little different with 4 wire contacts at the base of the bulb instead of the 2 silver nubs shown on the walk through on the 1st gen. The walk through for that is at http://www.mazda3forums.com/index.php?topic=124216.0

Here's a pic of the car with 35W 6000k HID lows and yellow tints on the fogs lights with the parking lights running.

Just to be safe, while removing the bulbs I had the positive cable removed from the car battery.

To get the bulbs out of the housing, I found that my hands were too big to do from inside the hood. So I had to open the paneling in the wheel well to get to bulb from underneath. There are 3 screws inside the wheel well and 3 screws underneath the front bumper. After that you should be able to reach your hand up and remove the bulb from the housing by gripping and twisting clockwise.

After removing the bulb from the housing you'll want to remove the bulb and cover the bottom inside wires with electrical tape.

After reinstalling the bulb make sure it's working before you try to put the bulb back into the housing. I used the caution blinkers and then turned on my lows. Hopefully this works for you, should be pretty simple to do. I feel like the lights look a lot cleaner with the amber lights gone now. Thanks for everyone that helped me out on the forums.

·
Registered
89 Posts
Sweet deal! I'll be doing this soon. What exactly do you mean by "bottom inside wires"? Maybe a pic with an arrow pointing to it please?

·
Registered
2,202 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
[quote author=th00p link=topic=170855.msg3619188#msg3619188 date=1271381185]