Mazda3 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
9,451 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I am going to go out on a limb here and guess that a lot of people on the board can work on a car. My question is who here can work on a house and what level of skill do you have. Oh and lets throw out fun tools and "I can't live without" tools everyone has. Any fun projects recently or up coming?

My level of skill is probably equivelent to an experienced apprentice. I can handle plumbing (any and all), electrical (almost any and all, I have never installed a break box originally or hooked up a house to the grid, but I have added on to a breaker box and done oodles of other electrical work), framing, drywall, painting, wood flooring, roofing, crown molding, concrete, retaining walls, etc. About the only things I have little or no experience with is foundations and tile work (taking care of that last one next weekend).

Currently I am doing a renovation of the first floor of my house. New floors (bamboo through out), pedestal sink in the half bath (which requried a ridiculous amount of replumbing the bathroom, all of which runs directly above my central air unit making it a PITA to get to), a couple of new cabinets in the kitchen, painting all of them white, granite tile counter tops and subway tile backsplash. Currently done with the floors and the bathroom. My wife and I still need to tackle everything else.

Probably my 3 can't live without powertools are my power drill, circular saw and saber saw. My next acquisitions are a compound miter saw (tired of borrowing my Dad's or father-in-law's) and a table saw or a jig for my circular saw.
-Matt

·
Registered
4,003 Posts
Not only can I not really work on a car, but I also am not handy with my hands. I can paint really well though. Always wanted to get into the rent house business, but not being very handy means I would have more money always going out then ever going in. This is something I should really learn how to do. . .