Mazda3 Forums banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey im new to headlights. I have a 08 3 itouring. I was looking on replacing my stock bulb for a 6000k 35w (http://www.apexcone.com/ap55wwesa.html). How many watts does the Mazda3 stock bulb have? I was also wondering what the ballasts are used for, and if I need them to install my HIDS, or should I just go for the bulb? Also can I go 55w without the ballasts?

Thanks.

·
Registered
10,739 Posts
Since your car only has Halogen bulbs from the factory, you will need the correct ballasts to run HIDs. Just getting bulbs will not work; buying a complete kit is the only way to go. Several of our forum sponsors have great deals going on for HID kits right now, check them out!

·
Registered
390 Posts
Installing HID's involves installing a "system". Each bulb requires it's own ballast. You can't swap out a bulb for a bulb. If you're in the city, I recommend getting a 6000K 35W kit. Anything over 6000k will give you more of a blue color, but not as bright.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
[quote author=calidude link=topic=136574.msg2943674#msg2943674 date=1234918571]
Installing HID's involves installing a "system". Each bulb requires it's own ballast. You can't swap out a bulb for a bulb. If you're in the city, I recommend getting a 6000K 35W kit. Anything over 6000k will give you more of a blue color, but not as bright.
[/quote]

I'd like a blue light, kind of like of a BMW. As far as brightness goes, would the 6000k 35w kit be on par as my stock light? Would I order a H7 or D2S?

·
Registered
16,618 Posts
You will need H7.

Don't expect your kit to compare to BMW or other higher-end models. They use projectors that are much more complex then those on the 3. 6k have some blue, 8k have more but less light output.

There is plenty of information and pictures in the exterior lighting sticky's.