Mazda3 Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
778 Posts
start it up then turn it of after about 15 sec then let it sit for about 3 min and turn it up again and let it warm up
got this info from my dads friend who is a professional rally driver from europe.
the way he explained was that before you start the car the oil is all at the bottom and a quick cycle is needed to get the oil to move around the engine so that it oils up the engine really quick. the 3 min break is needed to let the oil sink in all around the engine
i was really surprised to hear that

·
Registered
452 Posts
Every place inside the engine that needs oil is either fed pressurized oil from the oil pump or gets it's oil from splash/ flinging from rotating parts. The only time this hapens is when the engine is running. The highest wear on an engine is the first 5-10 sec after starting the engine.

My recomendation (and I build race engines for a living) is hold the accelerator on the floor (this causes the ECU to shut off the injectors in case of flooding. Crank the engine until the oil pressure light goes out. Stop cranking take your foot off the throttle and start the engine. Let it run for 1-2 minutes then take it for a drive, I keep the engine speed under 3000 rpm until it is up to full running temp, try to stay out of boost as much as possible (I do this every time I start ANY engine) The best thing you can do is drive it for 30 min and make sure you get the oil up to temp try and evaporate as much moisture as possible out of the oil.

·
Registered
13,452 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
[quote author=Byron link=topic=134123.msg2883245#msg2883245 date=1232655172]
Every place inside the engine that needs oil is either fed pressurized oil from the oil pump or gets it's oil from splash/ flinging from rotating parts. The only time this hapens is when the engine is running. The highest wear on an engine is the first 5-10 sec after starting the engine.