Mazda3 Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Pp

I have a 2004 Mazda 3 GT I have electric hydraulic power assist I want to put electric power assist off of a focus or a fusion is that possible because it's going to be a newer model car obviously. if it can be done what all does it entail... And we'll have to be programmed to the car

·
Super Moderator
1,348 Posts
I'm trying to figure out why you'd want to; the hybrid electric/hydraulic power assist to the Gen 1 Mazda3 models is among the best feeling steering of any car I've ever driven (and I've been driving for 50 years). As a general rule, all electric power assist for steering is associated with a distinct loss of steering feedback; if anything, I wish I could revert the all electric power assist of our 2016 back to the hybrid electric/hydraulic assist of our 2009.

While no "reprogramming" would be necessary, converting to an electric power assist from another car will be a relatively huge undertaking and decidedly not worth the effort or cost.

·
Registered
273 Posts
Wow, I really want you to do this. In fact I can't wait for the regular updates on how it is going. And oh yeah, when will it be done? Never!

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I'm trying to figure out why you'd want to; the hybrid electric/hydraulic power assist to the Gen 1 Mazda3 models is among the best feeling steering of any car I've ever driven (and I've been driving for 50 years). As a general rule, all electric power assist for steering is associated with a distinct loss of steering feedback; if anything, I wish I could revert the all electric power assist of our 2016 back to the hybrid electric/hydraulic assist of our 2009.

While no "reprogramming" would be necessary, converting to an electric power assist from another car will be a relatively huge undertaking and decidedly not worth the effort or coWell