Mazda3 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 56 Posts

·
Registered
232 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I don't drive a manual, but am seriously considering to get one when the time comes for me to buy a new car. However, i have some reservations about it....like how tedious it will become in heavy rush hour traffic. In any case, I was wondering, for those of you that are driving manual, how do you deal with it during the winter times? Particularly driving through the snow? Would it be safer to drive an automatic in that situation or it doesn't really matter? (This is a question i'm asking for a friend who has that concern)

·
Registered
984 Posts
Good question. I'd like to know also.

·
Registered
627 Posts
Getting stuck isn't fun, but driving...

This is long-winded as it is a highly subjective topic.

I'm a manual driver, have been for 6 years. Driving in the snow with good tires on a manual, no problem. In fact, in certain situations you can avoid skidding into things by upshifting (generating less power to the wheels), or downshifting (doing the opposite). Can you upshift on an automatic? Nope. Thus, when starting to skid too much while accelerating, just upshift and the skidding goes away, the car straightens out. I actually enjoy skidding because I have control over it. I do it for fun.

Suffice to say, driving a manual car in the winter CAN actually be safer. However. If you get stuck in the snow with a manual, and you're not an experienced manual driver, you're asking for a headache. Rocking from reverse to 1st isn't as easy as in an automatic. Hence at the beginning of all this I said GOOD tires.

As far as in traffic is concerned, you already know the answer. It's a pain in the arse. I actually drive during times there isn't traffic; if I can help it.