Mazda3 Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
If so do you like it? I'm considering making a career change. I have a meeting set up with the GM of a local Marriott hotel, who I have been referred to by a previous boss. Not sure if he has any jobs available but I am just going in to talk to him about the hotel/tourism industry and who knows maybe something will come of it. I have a bachelors degree and make alright money but I'm at a job I'm unhappy with and need a reason to get out. Just looking at one of those salary websites in my area for median salaries..

Guest Services Manager $35,354
Front Desk Manager $44,096
Hotel Manager Assistant $57,724.
Hotel Resident Manager $71,321

Any comments/suggestions? I'm assuming I'd have to start at the bottom in something like front desk which makes $20-$25k a year.

·
Registered
2,218 Posts
I don't work in the hotel industry, but my current job has close relationships with Marriott hotels. I also worked as hotel communications and security at the Four Seasons Hotel.

Marriott is a great chain of hotels and since I travel a lot, I'm always in contact with regional managers and booking travel for both myself and co-workers. One of the biggest downsides to being in the hotel industry is that most of them are all franchises. It's not a huge downside, but you'll quickly realize that hotel managers run things very differently, even though they're the same brand. Not to mention, you'll have different pay scales and promotion opportunities depending on the actual hotel you're working at.

I can't name off all the non-franchised hotels, but off the top of my head I know that the Four Seasons isn't and regardless of the Four Seasons hotel you work at, it's the same management style and procedures you'd find across the world.

·
Registered
17,662 Posts
[quote author=TheBlackBox link=topic=170962.msg3621891#msg3621891 date=1271580817]
im working right now at a motel 6, lulz