Mazda3 Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
369 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok I am a graphic designer at a company that is a machine shop/archery release manufacturer/golf putter manufacturer. My father-in-law is the head designer/engineer/machinist.. I have access to all the machines and tumblers, sandblasters, and can get any finish you can think of done. I have looked all over at the different shift knobs available and I am not seeing exactly what I want... well not ones that are under $150 - which is crazy to me! So I though why not design and make my own line... So here is what I need:
- What is the size bore and thread on the 3? I want this to fit like a stocker would.
I will probably try a weighted and a non-weighted ones.
- What do you guys think the best style is, I know what I like but I only have the stock one from a S Sedan.
- I think I want that rubberized finish. Just don't want it to be freezing cold in the winter..
anything else you think of it needs? I will probably laser engrave something on the sides once its powder coated or anodized... and then Mazdaspeed or shift sequence on top.. what do u guys think?

·
Registered
4,775 Posts
Re: Designing a new machined shift know... input wanted..

I would say leather wrapped with the tip having the shift sequence, but maybe do something creative with it instead of just the 6-point tree.

·
Registered
10,760 Posts

the thread pitch is 10X 1.25, I'm not sure on the depth of the threads, but you can just remove your stocker and measure the shifter itself for that.

In terms of what style to make, I'd say just go with what you like, as everyone's got their own tastes.

·
Registered
369 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·

thanks locust! yeah after I published that I was worried I would have every imaginable opinion.. I need to do some draw ups here soon..

·
Registered
5,390 Posts