Mazda3 Forums banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey there, so I just recently got a 1st gen ms3 and it either needs a rebuild or new engine. The previous owner ran out of oil when driving and now there’s knocking. I’m wondering if I should engine swap or just rebuild. And if I engine swap, what should I get? Or should I just rebuild. Let me know.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I’ve got the ms3 2.3l turbo, where is the 2.5 engine from? I’ve heard that the cx7 has the same engine as the speed 3. Is that true? Sorry, I’m just learning about this stuff.

·
Super Moderator
1,348 Posts
@Jo James, I do not believe there is a 2.5 liter turbo which can easily be transplanted into a Speed3; I think your only options are the cars which carried the old 2.3 liter turbo which means the Speed3, Speed6, and the CX-7.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
@Jo James, I do not believe there is a 2.5 liter turbo which can easily be transplanted into a Speed3; I think your only options are the cars which carried the old 2.3 liter turbo which means the Speed3, Speed6, and the CX-7.
Ok, thanks, that’s what I thought.

·
Super Moderator
1,348 Posts
For enough money, many things are possible. Kind of a SWAG guess here, I'm thinking an easy six to eight grand to cover it.

·
Registered
273 Posts
Wrong. You can swap in a Ford Fusion (or Mazda for that matter) MZR 2.5 motor. You will have to fashion a new oil return line by tapping an A/N fitting into the oil pan. This is because the 2.3 turbo block has an oil return port on the back of the block but the 2.5 non-turbo motor lacks this. You also have to swap the heads since the turbo uses a different head than the non-turbo. Other than these issues it is very much like any other swap of the garbage 2.3 for the far superior 2.5

·
Super Moderator
1,348 Posts