Mazda3 Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
563 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone, I'm a newb here, and have been reading for about 2 hours now. I gotta crash, cause I got a final tomorrow, but wanted to throw up some questions. I'm buying a car on Friday, while my Jeep waits to be fixed. I had previously considered the Honda EX, Jetta 1.8, and the Corolla S. Today I stumbled across the Mazda3 and was very impressed. I haven't seen it in person or tested it but planning on doing that on Friday. From my reading, I have come up with a few questions. They might be available in search, and I know reposts are PITA from my Jeepforum, but because of time constraints hopefully you can help me out. I'll try to search as well tomorrow.

-Is the S worth it over the I? I've read reviews and they show marginal differences in power and torque, however when reading the specs, you get alloys, power, A/c,... with the S over the I(makes up for the price difference).
-When people say sport, are they just talking about the options package or a different engine all together.
-I'm planning on the AT, the Jeep has destroyed my love for MT's, I want something to comfortabley drive. I read that the AT sucks power. How true is this?
-Another point I saw was that the stock Goodyears are slick. Does anyone have any opinions on this. I'm buying in the dead of winter and dont want to crash it in a week.
-I'm planning on getting ABS, but the firm braking power worries me in slick conditions. Do I have any basis for concern?

Any and all information is appreciated. Also if anyone wants to comment/compare to my other vehicle prospects that works too.

TIA
Craig

·
Premium Member
779 Posts
Welcome TellyDSP! To answer your questions.