Mazda3 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
1,842 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
alot of members already have put on bov from hks or greddy.....but the hard part is vta or recirc? i have read if you dont want ur car run like crap....use recirc only cuz ms3 engine.....then i read members run vta and everything is fine...and sound great......im about to get a bov and cai.....can someone explain again to me since im a newbie on turbo car....i would love to have some bov in my life....but i dont want my car run like crap.....help!?

·
Registered
3,558 Posts
sometimes you can't have it both ways. In reality your car probably wont run like crap in the short term, but you will be running even richer than the car already is which may cause your spark plugs to build up residue quicker and your car to waste gas.

·
Registered
1,842 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
so recircu is the way to go in a long run...? for the engine or spark plugs life??

·
Registered
229 Posts
[quote author=udontknowajck link=topic=67124.msg1153081#msg1153081 date=1168992526]
so recircu is the way to go in a long run...? for the engine or spark plugs life??
[/quote]

Yeah, recirc is definitely the way to go. You may not have any problems with stalling or fouling, but the fact is, the ECU compensates for the amount of air it sees come in with fuel, and if you dump that air out into the atmosphere, you have a shit-tonne of gas pouring into your chamber that can't be burnt off. Stalling and fouling are possible consequences, but the real kicker is that you will most likely lose power as a result. I'd put money on the people who say they've done it could dyno their car and show you the difference, even if they can't feel it.

·
Registered
1,522 Posts
i have run my greddy in both.
sounds better VTA but lost LOT of fuel mileage, ran 100% fine though
recirc will sound just as good if used with a CAI, and keep your mileage, and not burn up your cat, and spark plugs.

·
Registered
2,303 Posts