Mazda3 Forums banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
658 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First of all, I apologize if this is covered elsewhere and I didn't see it.

I want to make the emblem in the center of my steering wheel black--I'm tired of the glare I get off it, and it would look much cooler. I'm sure this can't be too hard, but I have no experience with something like this. Has anybody ever done it? It it just held on by double sided tape? And what would the steps be to take? Sand it, prime it, spray paint it?

Better yet, anybody know if there's black steering wheel emblems sold anywhere that I could just replace it with?

Any help or advice is greatly appreciated. :)

Edit: Ok, after a quick search it's sounding like this emblem doesn't come off that easily. Anybody think it's feasible that I could just sand it and paint it while it's still attached, if I had like a weekend I could set aside for it? Like sand it down as best I can, tape off everything else around it, prime it, and spray paint it? Stupid idea? I seriously want to do something to it, the glare annoys the crap out of me.

·
Registered
373 Posts
I remember a thread about this not too long ago and the guy really effed up his whole steering wheel. He then bondo'd it and painted and primered and it came out pretty decent. Lots of work though. I'll see if I can dig up that thread.

·
Registered
658 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Yeah, I read some of that thread before. That's obviously way more work than I'm looking for though, and a lot of that was just him fixing his own botches. I'm still wondering if it would be possible to do all the work without removing the emblem--just sand/prime/paint it in the car. Anybody think that's feasible?

·
Registered
3,404 Posts
you have to take the steering wheel cover off to do it. take it off and see...

·
Registered
192 Posts
[quote author=Chaos link=topic=138943.msg2994774#msg2994774 date=1237080878]