Mazda3 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I just bought a M3 and I love it.

I am used to a street truck with a LS differential / RWD.

I have driven standards / FWD for years.

I need to know if there is something worng with my new M3:

Whenever I give it really hard acceleration in wet or slick conditions, the front tires will slip or "burn out", especially if I unlimber the clutch quicly.

Of course--right!?

But...

As it begins to accelerate and move up into the power band (with the wheels still spinning or partially spinning), the whole front end becomes very "clunky" and the wheels jar and shake as if there is something wrong. In fact, the whole front end shakes like a bitch until I roll off the throttle--then the vehicle proceeds as normal.

Is there something wrong with my car?

I am an experienced driver and motorcycle rider--so I know about the physics and dynamics of road handling, traction, etc.

I have always been able to smoothly "drive out" of a burnout. Now it clunks, vibrates, shakes, jars--etc--like the whole car is goign to fall apart.

Is this some sort of traction-control mechanism? Is that (bleeping) computer chip telling my tires to modulate traction? Is it making the tires stick and unstick, in some sort of micro-second, idiot proofing traction control?

Or is there something mechanically wrong with the car?

Thanks and great forums!

JZBC

·
Registered
135 Posts
Sounds like you're experiencing a combination of torque steer and wheel hop. How to fix it? Stop doing burnouts, before you break something ;)

·
Registered
5,673 Posts
limited slip differential would have been a good idea on this car. Does it show I'm pissed about that? Well I am!

·
Registered
1,089 Posts