Mazda3 Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I'm looking for some advice. I am a college sophomore currently pursuing dual undergraduate degrees in International Business and Hispanic Studies. I live in the southeastern United States. There are no manufacturing plants or offices near where I live and grew up. All my life, however, I have been captivated by the automobile. When it was time for me to get a car of my own, I picked the closest thing to a sports car I could get back in 2004. That car is an exhilarating Mazda3 I still get chills in every time I'm behind the wheel. The car made me fall deeply in love with the automotive industry. So much so that I realize now it is my passion. Each day I get back to my dorm room after class, the first thing I do is check Autoweek, Car and Driver, Road and Track, Edmunds' Inside Line, and auto blogs. I am obsessed. I want to work for a major auto manufacturer. I may even want to pursue my own car company. But, I need help. I am destined for law school upon my graduation in two years. I feel like there are steps I should be taking to pursue my automotive dreams. But, my geographic area confines me. There is no one around here that works for an auto company. No one that knows anyone that works for an auto company. My university doesn't even offer any kind of automotive design or mechanical engineering. I feel trapped in a world I must break free of. Is there anyone out there on this forum that can give me some guidance? I am young but I don't want to make too many mistakes and suddenly find myself in a cubicle working for some firm I could care less about. I have applied for internships and sent emails and resumes to the big manufacturers. But, months and months have passed and I have received little correspondence back. Can someone out there please give me some advice? Thank you!

·
Registered
9,518 Posts
what exactly you wanna do in the company?
Design the car right?