Mazda3 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
256 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm just trying to decide if the ABS package is worth the $800. The only car I've ever owned that has been equipped with ABS is the one I'm driving currently ('97 Dodge Intrepid) and the few times ABS has kicked in it actually seems to have triggered the slide and made it worse (this is in the snow).

I've heard the that the Mz3 has fairly good brakes and I'm a driver who likes to be in control at all times. I'm not to keen on the car "taking over" for me. However, it's a safety feature more and more common on cars as of late.

Just wanted to hear everyone's thoughts on the issue...

·
Registered
330 Posts
I think of ABS/airbag package this way, If your an excellent driver you shouldn't ever need them. They're for all the other idiots that cut you off; run red lights; etc. True sometimes they kick in on slick roads but potential positives out-weigh the negs, IMHO.

Also, If I'm not mistaken it should lower your insurance rates. Can anyone verify that. The cost savings may cancel out the initial outlay.

·
Registered
1,201 Posts
ABS is a godsend. Last night night I almost T-boned a car because I hit a real slick spot that almost sent me sailing into an intersection. I could really feel the ABS at work, and managed to save myself.

·
Registered
78 Posts
I was jsut looking at the texas insurance commission (or whatever it is) website last night and yes, ABS (along with airbags, foglamps, and daytime running lights) can get you insurance discounts.

·
Registered
4,287 Posts
I think the ABS/SAB/SAC package is a good deal for $800. If it was just ABS for $800 then I wouldn't be that good of a deal, but I would still get it. I am the type of driver that "slams"/ constant pressure on the brakes in quick braking situations and the ABS affords shorter stoppings distances in most situations.