Mazda3 Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1,207 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was wondering...

Did the Mazda engineers plan to make that 6th gear an overdrive or what? I mean... there's SO much power on that gear that I don't even need to downshift to pass somebody on the highway; and at 75-80 mph down the road the RPMS stay in 3k :shock:

Maybe a 7th gear will bring them down to 2.5k, below the turbo threshold?

Can that be done?? Would it be wise?

Needless to say.. I'm a NOOB :lol:

·
Registered
5,875 Posts
um, no a 7th gear isn't possible, for a LOT of reasons. You could change the ratio on 6th if you wanted (but it would be a big fall off), if anyone decides to offer one, wasn't there someone who offered a new 5th gear ratio for the regular 3's a while ago?

For reference, an overdrive gear is technically just a gear that has a ratio smaller than 1:1, I'm pretty sure the MS3 6th gear IS an overdrive gear

·
Registered
8,677 Posts
I am pretty sure the Ms3 5th adn 6th gears are overdrive gears. The engine just has a ridiculous amount of power.

·
Registered
1,223 Posts
5th gear is not an overdrive gear..the ratio is 1.09...6th is though with a ratio of .85. welcome to the world of stupid amounts of torque.

·
Registered
8,677 Posts
whats the final drive on the ms3?

·
Registered
1,207 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
[quote author=Coulda link=topic=67188.msg1154077#msg1154077 date=1169050840]
5th gear is not an overdrive gear..the ratio is 1.09...6th is though with a ratio of .85. welcome to the world of stupid amounts of torque.
[/quote]

So that's what it is! :lol:
Too much torque! Wait wait... that's what I bought this car for.. GIMME SOME MORE!

·
Registered
135 Posts
[quote author=rubyred3 link=topic=67188.msg1154039#msg1154039 date=1169049919]