Mazda3 Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Sorry if this is a repeat question, I searched and could not find a post about this.

Anyone know if you can put the clearbra over the dealer installed "dupont paint protection".

I was a sucker and pait the $399 for undercoating and paint protection, drop in the bucket I guess.

Anyway, also, any comments in general about the Clearbra would be great, I am new to the stuff.

Thanks,

·
Registered
39 Posts
04M3S said:
Anyone know if you can put the clearbra over the dealer installed "dupont paint protection".
Thanks,
The "DuPont paint protection" is probably some type of polish or wax. The installer will strip off any polish or wax before installing the clear 3M film.

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
it is supposed to be a "sealer" that lasts 5 years, according to the documentation that they gave me. But, who knows...

Anyone know of a quality shop in Northern VA that does the clearbra?

Around here there are only two kinds of shops, the ones that fill up your car and wash it after an oil change (for $75). Or the ones that take your car for a joyride with their cousin, after the $25 quicky lube.

Hopefully, someone has found a decent shop.

·
Registered
1,071 Posts
any type of paint protection is a complete rip off. How do you know the dealer really put it on? :wink:

As for the clearbra, for me the jury is still out. I haven't seen the long term effects of the clearbra on any car for 5+ years. The clear bra clocks out any UV rays hitting the car. I'm assuming the paint color will look different afterwards. Try standing in the sun and having one arm w/ sunscreen and the other not, what are the effects? Now that a poor analogy but you get the point I'm trying to make.

Simple remedy is wash and wax your car regularily and you should need no underbody protection, clear coat, etc.

·
Registered
744 Posts