Mazda3 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know there are some other posts about this but I just wanted to share my experience with other members.

I'm sure many members have noticed this and many have not, it really depends on how you drive your speed. I'm a very aggresive driver so i'm using the speed for what it was built for. Performance driving, not pussy footing around town. I recently ran the 2009 Snowcross challenge here in utah and the speed performed great on the track aside from having to trailbrake the living hell out of the car.

Since it did so well, i figured hey why not try an autocross. That's when the car literally failed for me. Setting up for MOST gates would pop the car out of 2nd gear. mind you this course was setup to be a very very tight course. 2nd gear at most throughout the whole course.

I wanted to sell the car right there but later calmed down and realized hey i'm probably just driving it wrong and i need to tune the car for autocrossing.

Later that week i was hell bent on trying to duplicate the issue so I found a vacant street and let loose. Getting up to around 60 mph in 2nd and slamming the brakes, tosses it into neutral 100% of the time. I'm not talkin a usual oh no stop. i'm talkin slam the breaks cause you're gonna hit a wall type of stop. An oh no stop will do it around 60% of the time, but hit the wall braking will be 100%

I tried it in 2nd, and it popped
I tried it in 4th, and it won't pop
I did not try it in 6th, but i would assume it would pop since it's more at an angle in the gearbox and the torque of the motor mounts would pull it out. That's why 4th stays put, since it's a straight line. (for the most part)