Mazda3 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 63 Posts

·
Registered
1,071 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Since it has been on the 6 for some time now, I was wondering if anyone knew of any problems. I've read that the engine sometimes comes on when revving. But the CEL is a popular problem with mazdas..

·
Registered
4,849 Posts
It's a gas cap issue - MUST tighten it till it clicks a few times. Was quite common when the 6 came out but I haven't read about it in the last few months.

·
Registered
984 Posts
3 clicks will prevent it from coming on.

·
Registered
396 Posts
i'm sorry guys, i'm a newbie
what do you mean by: "3 clicks will prevent it from coming on"
what comes on???

·
Registered
147 Posts
I believe they are talking about the indicator light for the mazda6 that came on for no reason. This was caused by not tightening the gas cap enough. When you tighten gas cap you hear clicks....so 3 clicks.

·
Registered
4,686 Posts
Yep that happen to me. I went to the dealer and told them that my CEL was on. The tech went over and just tighten the gas cap until it click a couple of times. CEL went off 10min later.

·
Registered
984 Posts
The Check Engine Light comes on b/c it's very sensitive to everything little thing. How it knows you didn't click the gas cap three times, I don't know, but it does.

·
Registered
14,337 Posts
The only CEL I've ever experienced is from a cyl 6 misfire... but as you can tell from that, that's on the V6. The oxygen sensor CEL is indeed quite popular, due to the gas cap not being tight enough. While it is nothing bad, it is a bit obnoxious since the dealer must reset it. I've never heard of anything actually BAD happening with the engine though.

·
Registered
101 Posts
schulkw said:
The Check Engine Light comes on b/c it's very sensitive to everything little thing. How it knows you didn't click the gas cap three times, I don't know, but it does.
Do you want to know?
Why and how? :?:

·
Registered
154 Posts