Can I add MP3/AUX jack to OEM stereo? - Page 2 - Mazda3 Forums : The #1 Mazda 3 Forum


FMVPerformance.com is the premier Mazda 3 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-21-2011, 12:26 AM   #11
Airon
Moped Rider
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Elizabeth,NJ
Posts: 10
Default Re: Can I add MP3/AUX jack to OEM stereo?

[quote author=icspots link=topic=191057.msg4050523#msg4050523 date=1308225844]
[quote author=Airon link=topic=191057.msg4050394#msg4050394 date=1308194930]
I read through this thread and didn't seem to have my question answered. I have an 04 Mazda3 i and I was wondering if it was possible to somehow run an AUX cable directly out from the STOCK radio. This would be a great thing for me beside using the Wireless Transmitter which sacrifice sound quality.
[/quote]

No you cannot. There are no audio inputs on the back of the stereo to simply run a cable directly to.
[/quote]

After looking around this forum and other forums, I came across an add-on to the OEM radio which adds a line-in jack. Follow this link it you want more information. http://www.sylfex.com/products/AuxMod/
__________________
04 Silver Mazda3 i ; No Mods Yet.
Airon is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-21-2011, 03:00 PM   #12
icspots
Super Moderator
 
icspots's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Falls Church, VA
Posts: 15,587
Default Re: Can I add MP3/AUX jack to OEM stereo?

[quote author=Airon link=topic=191057.msg4053995#msg4053995 date=1308630361]
After looking around this forum and other forums, I came across an add-on to the OEM radio which adds a line-in jack. Follow this link it you want more information. http://www.sylfex.com/products/AuxMod/
[/quote]

Yup, it's listed in my audio input thread linked in my sig, and in the post from John_in_the_LBC. Also I mentioned it in one of my first posts.
icspots is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2011, 11:21 PM   #13
RC
Grand Am Series
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 302
Default Re: Can I add MP3/AUX jack to OEM stereo?

[quote author=icspots link=topic=191057.msg4031439#msg4031439 date=1306199714]
Note that if you went with the OEM module you'd get text display on the LCD however the ipod would be locked out.
[/quote]

ICS, what other features does that unit have? Will it allow control through the steering wheel buttons? Will it charge the ipod? Will it pause the ipod when the vehicle is turned off?
RC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 06:11 PM   #14
icspots
Super Moderator
 
icspots's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Falls Church, VA
Posts: 15,587
Default Re: Can I add MP3/AUX jack to OEM stereo?

[quote author=RC link=topic=191057.msg4054818#msg4054818 date=1308712908]
[quote author=icspots link=topic=191057.msg4031439#msg4031439 date=1306199714]
Note that if you went with the OEM module you'd get text display on the LCD however the ipod would be locked out.
[/quote]

ICS, what other features does that unit have? Will it allow control through the steering wheel buttons? Will it charge the ipod? Will it pause the ipod when the vehicle is turned off?
[/quote]

It lets you control via the HU and steering wheel controls
It charges the ipod
Not sure if it pauses.
icspots is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 11:55 PM   #15
RC
Grand Am Series
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 302
Default Re: Can I add MP3/AUX jack to OEM stereo?

Hmmmm....thanks.
RC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2011, 09:22 PM   #16
icspots
Super Moderator
 
icspots's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Falls Church, VA
Posts: 15,587
Default Re: Can I add MP3/AUX jack to OEM stereo?

[quote author=RC link=topic=191057.msg4055618#msg4055618 date=1308801311]
Hmmmm....thanks.
[/quote]

It's also one of the very few units which will display text information on the HU display, and apparently of the few which do it's the best UI.
icspots is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2011, 10:10 PM   #17
RC
Grand Am Series
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 302
Default Re: Can I add MP3/AUX jack to OEM stereo?

Thanks for the follow up ICS. I am going to ask homey over at onlinemazdaparts if he knows if the unit will pause the ipod. I ALWAYS just use my ipod on shuffle...so I don't need to access it.
RC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2011, 10:32 AM   #18
icspots
Super Moderator
 
icspots's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Falls Church, VA
Posts: 15,587
Default Re: Can I add MP3/AUX jack to OEM stereo?

[quote author=RC link=topic=191057.msg4056431#msg4056431 date=1308881400]
Thanks for the follow up ICS. I am going to ask homey over at onlinemazdaparts if he knows if the unit will pause the ipod. I ALWAYS just use my ipod on shuffle...so I don't need to access it.
[/quote]

I feel certain it turns the ipod off when you turn off the car, however I couldn't say if it automatically restarts, or if it remembers where it was. I just haven't actually played with one to answer that question.
icspots is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2011, 01:12 PM   #19
chizep
Moped Rider
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 21
Default Re: Can I add MP3/AUX jack to OEM stereo?

AuxMod Basic is currently in stock. I ordered mine 10 days ago and it was delivered in 2 business days (USPS.) I was pretty impressed!

Installation was a breeze thanks to the useful guides here. I ran the cable into the ashtray. Perfect fit for my iPod mini.
chizep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2013, 06:20 PM   #20
mitko
Bicycle Rider
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Europe
Posts: 5
Default

Sorry for opening this old thread, but I just did this installation today and it works fine.

But there is one big problem. When I plug the Galaxy S3 to the USB (so at the same time it's charging via USB and connected to HU AUX input) I hear the alternator whine sound which changes on engine speed (RPMs).

Any ideas?

Thanks
mitko is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Mazda3 Forums : The #1 Mazda 3 Forum > Visual / Audio > 2004-2009 Electronics Discussion

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.