Can I add MP3/AUX jack to OEM stereo? - Mazda3 Forums : The #1 Mazda 3 Forum


FMVPerformance.com is the premier Mazda 3 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-22-2011, 01:05 PM   #1
riley3d
Go-Kart Driver
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: California
Posts: 51
Default Can I add MP3/AUX jack to OEM stereo?

I have the 06 with the 6 cd changer in dash. What is the best way to add an aux jack?

thanks
__________________
2006 Mazda 3, black, 5 dr
2003 KLR 650
riley3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-22-2011, 11:12 PM   #2
slo3
Bicycle Rider
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: San Luis obispo
Posts: 6
Default 2006 Ipod Aux Button?

Is there a way to access the AUX button on a PRE ipod ready Mazda3? I know this was a standard option a year later. The manual says that the AUX button is for an optional tape deck, that it doesn't have. Is there a way to tap in? Such a waste of a button on the dash otherwise.

Cheers.
slo3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2011, 11:14 PM   #3
slo3
Bicycle Rider
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: San Luis obispo
Posts: 6
Default Re: Can I add MP3/AUX jack to OEM stereo?

I just asked the same thing. Seems like there should be an easy way to patch into the AUX Button. I have seen where people have added the little power adapter for charging, but I would be happy with just a plug in, and no dash tear apart.
slo3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2011, 11:38 PM   #4
seryal
Bicycle Rider
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Russia
Posts: 1
Default Re: Can I add MP3/AUX jack to OEM stereo?

[quote author=riley3d link=topic=191057.msg4030209#msg4030209 date=1306083950]
I have the 06 with the 6 cd changer in dash. What is the best way to add an aux jack?

thanks
[/quote]
I'm created device using Microcontroller PIC12F675/629. This device connect to CD Changer connector and activate AUX when press CD button.
Minimum details and simple shem
http://mazda-axela.ru/images/stories/AUX/pict-02.jpg
Archive with firmware for PIC12F675/629 here.
http://mazda-axela.ru/images/stories...a-Axela.ru.rar
Full article, but in Russian.
http://mazda-axela.ru/index.php?opti...amp;Itemid=766
seryal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 12:33 AM   #5
john_in_the_lbc
Senior Member
 
john_in_the_lbc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Long Beach, California
Posts: 30,977
Default Re: Can I add MP3/AUX jack to OEM stereo?

options: http://www.mazda3forums.com/index.php?topic=62624.0
__________________
2006 Whitewater Pearl Mazda 3 S GT Hatch: Garage Vary Valiant Lip, Grill and Eyelids : Custom JL/Alpine Audio : MazdaSpeed Accessory Springs and Swaybars : JDM MazdaSpeed Strut Bar : Koni Yellows : 5Zigen Pro Racer zr520 : Continental ExtremeContact DW : Buddy Club Condenser : XE Pedals : Black Rays Lugs : HP Tint : Stubby :
My car thread http://www.mazda3forums.com/index.ph...857#msg1872857
john_in_the_lbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 09:15 PM   #6
icspots
Super Moderator
 
icspots's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Falls Church, VA
Posts: 15,593
Default Re: Can I add MP3/AUX jack to OEM stereo?

[quote author=riley3d link=topic=191057.msg4030209#msg4030209 date=1306083950]
I have the 06 with the 6 cd changer in dash. What is the best way to add an aux jack?

thanks
[/quote]

For a simple input I recommend either the grom or Aux Mod basic (if you can find it in stock)

If you're using an apple device: For ipod specific the most commonly used (and with fewest complaints on the forum) are the grom ipod and the Audiolink. Note that if you went with the OEM module you'd get text display on the LCD however the ipod would be locked out.

[quote author=slo3 link=topic=191057.msg4030465#msg4030465 date=1306120464]
I just asked the same thing. Seems like there should be an easy way to patch into the AUX Button. I have seen where people have added the little power adapter for charging, but I would be happy with just a plug in, and no dash tear apart.
[/quote]

For the first year or so that the 3 was released several people did a hack to the circuit board to input audio while playing a 'silent' CD. It worked but a couple of people fried their HU doing it.... granted they probably weren't terribly good at it. Currently there are a plethora of devices that allow you to input audio, use a USB flash drive or SD card, or integrate and control an ipod/iphone. Personally I'd much rather spend a small amount of money for something which simply plugs in vs. an unreliable hack. My

I merged these two topics since they were basically asking the exact same thing.
icspots is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2011, 07:30 AM   #7
daza
Bicycle Rider
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9
Default Re: Can I add MP3/AUX jack to OEM stereo?

http://www.xcarlink.com/show_info.asp?product_ID=352

I have seen it sold from here:

http://www.therpmstore.com/product_i...roducts_id=141
daza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2011, 04:37 AM   #8
agent_rus
Bicycle Rider
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Mother Russia ^_^
Posts: 1
Default Re: Can I add MP3/AUX jack to OEM stereo?

I'm not sure but in russia - if you have a "Media" button - add aux it's very easy

this is changer pin:



w\b <-> br\g - jumper
rbw - Left,Right,Ground to jack 3.5

this is for mazda 3 2004-2006
mazda 3 2006+ have another pin

agent_rus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2011, 11:28 PM   #9
Airon
Moped Rider
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Elizabeth,NJ
Posts: 10
Default Re: Can I add MP3/AUX jack to OEM stereo?

I read through this thread and didn't seem to have my question answered. I have an 04 Mazda3 i and I was wondering if it was possible to somehow run an AUX cable directly out from the STOCK radio. This would be a great thing for me beside using the Wireless Transmitter which sacrifice sound quality.
__________________
04 Silver Mazda3 i ; No Mods Yet.
Airon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2011, 08:04 AM   #10
icspots
Super Moderator
 
icspots's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Falls Church, VA
Posts: 15,593
Default Re: Can I add MP3/AUX jack to OEM stereo?

[quote author=Airon link=topic=191057.msg4050394#msg4050394 date=1308194930]
I read through this thread and didn't seem to have my question answered. I have an 04 Mazda3 i and I was wondering if it was possible to somehow run an AUX cable directly out from the STOCK radio. This would be a great thing for me beside using the Wireless Transmitter which sacrifice sound quality.
[/quote]

No you cannot. There are no audio inputs on the back of the stereo to simply run a cable directly to.
icspots is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Mazda3 Forums : The #1 Mazda 3 Forum > Visual / Audio > 2004-2009 Electronics Discussion

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.