2007 Mazdaspeed3 Transmission Problems/Noise!!! - Mazda3 Forums : The #1 Mazda 3 Forum

FMVPerformance.com is the premier Mazda 3 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

Old 05-10-2011, 12:44 AM   #1
chazwik31
Moped Rider

Default 2007 Mazdaspeed3 Transmission Problems/Noise!!!

first, I've owned my 07 Speed3 for about a year now, in which I have put on about 35k miles, totaling 88k (I have a long commute). I categorize myself as a spirited driver, I have a little fun here and there but don't thrash the car. I drive for economy 95% of the time, and my commute is nothing but boring country roads, so I sit at 60-65mph in 6th almost the entire time.

Last week, I started to notice an ever-so-slight gear whine/tone in only 5th or 6th at highway speeds, it was so minimal that I dismissed it as something that was always there, just never heard it before. But, it progressively got louder, and now its to the point its just flat out obnoxious. Its a mid-toned gear whine that is more apparent on acceleration, but is very apparent on deceleration as well. The sound is identical in 5th and 6th, it changes slightly with speed, but not with gear change. For instance, 60mph in 5th sounds the same as 60mph in 6th. There is no problem getting it into those gears, so the syncros seem to be fine. But once your in 5th or 6th and let the clutch out, its super loud. Its not a grinding sound, just a mid-tone drone noise.

I have the oil changed every 4k or so, at which point all the fluids are checked and topped off.

I'm curious to see if anyone has heard of or experienced similar problems, and may give me some insight as to what is going wrong. I'd like a bit more knowledge before I drop a bunch of money to have someone tear the tranny apart only to find there was nothing wrong, and it was a simple fix. I'm super strapped for cash so I'd like to get as close to the actual problem before paying someone to tear my car apart.

thanks in advance for your help.