Car shakes when idle - Mazda3 Forums : The #1 Mazda 3 Forum


FMVPerformance.com is the premier Mazda 3 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-13-2010, 04:16 PM   #1
azn712
Bicycle Rider
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 8
Default Car shakes when idle

Recently, I noticed that when i am stopped at a red light, my car vibrates/shakes more than usual(a bit too much in my opinion, it is almost uncomfortable to sit in the car when it vibrates). It feels like the car is about to stale. The vibration/shaking can reduced when shifting to neutral. The vibration/shaking is not constant, it would starts to vibrate for a second or two, then stop, then start again. And the cycle goes on.

Does anyone know what could be the cause?

Thanks.
azn712 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-13-2010, 04:50 PM   #2
Black n Blue 05
Moped Rider
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Orange County
Posts: 14
Default Re: Car shakes when idle

Dude, mine does the same thing .... I've been told it is because of the failed motor mount .... Flow the post I'm about to put up and maybe we can get some help ....
__________________
Winning Blue 2005 Mazda 3 Sport
Black 2001 Chevy Suburban *on fast bags*
Midnight Blue 1973 Mustang *R.I.P.*
Black n Blue 05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 05:03 PM   #3
pinkcheese
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2,740
Default Re: Car shakes when idle

check your transmission engine mount and your passanger side engine mount. look for oil on the passanger side one if you see any it has failer.
pinkcheese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 06:50 PM   #4
boosten ya(josh)
Short Track Racer
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 200
Default Re: Car shakes when idle

Is your heater or ac on when this happens? Does it do it when the heater and ac is off?
__________________
08 mazdaspeed 3

some mods E85 tuned.
boosten ya(josh) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 08:08 PM   #5
danger mouse
F1 Driver
 
danger mouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Bloomington, IN
Posts: 13,892
Send a message via AIM to danger mouse
Default Re: Car shakes when idle

yeah my car started doing that, then it started dieing at stop lights... Check your MAF sensor, unplug it and clean it (they sell MAF cleaner at autozone etc), and check the wires. With the car running poke at the wires and if it stalls thats your problem.

I had to replace both the MAF and a few months later the wires going into it. Fun stuff
__________________
tealed out n dropped
danger mouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2010, 09:32 PM   #6
grockpilot
Bicycle Rider
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2
Default Re: Car shakes when idle

Yeah it's a bad motor mount. A lot of people, myself included, have had this happen.
grockpilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2010, 10:50 PM   #7
azn712
Bicycle Rider
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 8
Default Re: Car shakes when idle

any tips on how to fix a bad motor mount?
azn712 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 12:07 AM   #8
Tabasco69
Senior Member
 
Tabasco69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Vancouver,WA
Posts: 1,899
Default Re: Car shakes when idle

you buuy a new one, might even goes as far as buying 2 of each so you have a spare when that one goes....or if are still under warranty hit the dealership up.
__________________
We choose to build a n/a-f/i Mazda3.....

Not because it is Easy....but because it is hard

Because that challenge is one we are willing to accept

One we are unwilling to postpone
....and one we inttend to win
Tabasco69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2010, 02:00 AM   #9
azn712
Bicycle Rider
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 8
Default Re: Car shakes when idle

I finally got around to check my motor mount #3. There seems to be a hold in the middle of the rubber part. Does that mean the mount is bad?
azn712 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2010, 02:18 PM   #10
azn712
Bicycle Rider
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 8
Default Re: Car shakes when idle

read up on bunch posts on how to replace motor mount. I want to do it myself but i am a bit hesitant. In the walkthrough, it mentioned that the mount has to be cranked to a specific ft/lb. How do i know make sure i get to that number? Or should i just take it into a shop?

Also, are there places that i can purchase a motor mount locally? i live in northern virginia.

Thanks
azn712 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Mazda3 Forums : The #1 Mazda 3 Forum > Technical / Model / Performance > Powertrain 2004-2009 Mazda3

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.