Transmission Fluid Question - Mazda3 Forums : The #1 Mazda 3 Forum

FMVPerformance.com is the premier Mazda 3 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

Old 07-08-2010, 01:39 PM   #1
Athrex
Bicycle Rider

Default Transmission Fluid Question

I just purchased a 2007 Mazda 3 s ATX this past weekend. It has 41000 miles on it and belonged to a single owner who purchased the vehicle. I have very little knowledge of the service history of this vehicle. It simply looks like all the owner did was change the oil, and he never went to the dealership to do it. There are multiple Quicklube type stickers in the dash.

I read in another thread about changing the transmission fluid for the ATX around every 30k miles for this car. I was just trying to get your opinions on what I should do. Should I wait until the fluid looks bad then change it? Or simply change it now, and begin the process of changing it every 30k miles.

I do a lot of highway driving daily on this car. Around 100 miles a day mostly at 60-70 mph so I need to do everything I can to help my car last as long as possible.

Any opinion is appreciated.
Athrex is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-08-2010, 02:06 PM   #2
balding geezer
Le Mans: Prototype Class

Default Re: Transmission Fluid Question

I have little confidence in automatic transmissions so my recommendations may be a bit conservative. Just for the sake of full disclosure.