2006 mazda 3 hatch back aux port in arm rest - Mazda3 Forums : The #1 Mazda 3 Forum


FMVPerformance.com is the premier Mazda 3 Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-14-2010, 02:06 PM   #1
shoedawg2020
Bicycle Rider
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 4
Default 2006 mazda 3 hatch back aux port in arm rest

Hi,

I just recently purchased m '06 Mazda3 and I noticed that I had an aux port in the armrest. Problem is when I plug my mp3 player into it I cannot get to the aux option when i press the media button on my center console. I heard somewhere that it is connected to the Satellite button and since i do not have the satellite radio anymore I cannot get the aux port to work. Please HELP !!!!! Is there some way to bypass the satellite button?

Thanks,
shoedawg2020 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-14-2010, 02:21 PM   #2
john_in_the_lbc
Senior Member
 
john_in_the_lbc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Long Beach, California
Posts: 30,836
Default Re: 2006 mazda 3 hatch back aux port in arm rest

so sirius was working until recently?
my understanding was that one of the aux in options used the satellite input plug, so you could not use both satellite and aux functions (unless you also had a switchbox). maybe the switchbox is installed somewhere are you just need to toggle to the aux function?
__________________
2006 Whitewater Pearl Mazda 3 S GT Hatch: Garage Vary Valiant Lip, Grill and Eyelids : Custom JL/Alpine Audio : MazdaSpeed Accessory Springs and Swaybars : JDM MazdaSpeed Strut Bar : Koni Yellows : 5Zigen Pro Racer zr520 : Continental ExtremeContact DW : Buddy Club Condenser : XE Pedals : Black Rays Lugs : HP Tint : Stubby :
My car thread http://www.mazda3forums.com/index.ph...857#msg1872857
john_in_the_lbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2010, 02:26 PM   #3
danielj
F1 Driver
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 16,620
Send a message via AIM to danielj Send a message via MSN to danielj
Default Re: 2006 mazda 3 hatch back aux port in arm rest

I would question the aux input. These were not available from Mazda until 07 on models in North America. So if you're in the US or CN and have an aux input in your 06, it was added later.
__________________
Hi Everybody
danielj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2010, 02:49 PM   #4
shoedawg2020
Bicycle Rider
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 4
Default Re: 2006 mazda 3 hatch back aux port in arm rest

No, the sirius radio does not work because I did not want it, did not want to pay for the subscription . . Nothing is wrong with the Sat radio. I just want to get the aux port to work, that is my issue.

Yes, I definately have the aux port in the armrest along with an extra lighter plugin. It must have been an upgrad that the previous owner made. I'll try to toggle again when I get back home, but it didn't work the first time I tried it. It is just a matter of hitting the media button or cd button twice right? If this doesn't work, what would I be able to do to get the aux port to work?

Thanks
shoedawg2020 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2010, 02:59 PM   #5
john_in_the_lbc
Senior Member
 
john_in_the_lbc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Long Beach, California
Posts: 30,836
Default Re: 2006 mazda 3 hatch back aux port in arm rest

you might be able to unplug the sirius input from the radio and plug in the aux input instead, if you can find it.
i think icspots is the expert on these input options so i'll see if he can help.
__________________
2006 Whitewater Pearl Mazda 3 S GT Hatch: Garage Vary Valiant Lip, Grill and Eyelids : Custom JL/Alpine Audio : MazdaSpeed Accessory Springs and Swaybars : JDM MazdaSpeed Strut Bar : Koni Yellows : 5Zigen Pro Racer zr520 : Continental ExtremeContact DW : Buddy Club Condenser : XE Pedals : Black Rays Lugs : HP Tint : Stubby :
My car thread http://www.mazda3forums.com/index.ph...857#msg1872857
john_in_the_lbc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2010, 07:56 PM   #6
icspots
Super Moderator
 
icspots's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Falls Church, VA
Posts: 15,525
Default Re: 2006 mazda 3 hatch back aux port in arm rest

So to check you have sirius installed but don't have a subscription because you didn't want to pay for it, or you had sirius installed and had it removed? Both the sirius and ACI utilize the same input on the HU, so having one plugged in means the other can't be plugged in unless you have the Mazda switchbox that allows both to be plugged in at the same time. It's likely that either the sirius is still plugged into the port on the back of the HU, or that if it were removed the ACI was never plugged back in.

Other members with this issue have just been able to remove the HU, and look around to swap the plugs, or plug the ACI back in. Generally the ACI plug gets tucked behind a panel or ziptied to another harness to keep it from rattling around. There are plenty of good walkthroughs on removing the HU.... try searching for "changing dash colors" by commie, or "grom install" as both have good pictorals for removing the HU.

+1 to what Daniel said. In North America the ACI and aux power port weren't included until 2007, though '06 models do have the "MEDIA" button vs. the "TAPE/MD" button of the '04-'05 models. Off the top of my head I can't think of what other changes Mazda made for the '07 model. I'm betting you have a '07, but you could confirm that by checking the build date located on the sticker on the driver's door jam.
icspots is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2010, 09:11 AM   #7
shoedawg2020
Bicycle Rider
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 4
Default Re: 2006 mazda 3 hatch back aux port in arm rest

Here are photos of my car.

You are correct, I have a Satellite button but I am not paying for satellite radio and that is why it is shut off. Thanks for your help.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg P4140704.JPG (773.8 KB, 23 views)
File Type: jpg P4140705.JPG (699.8 KB, 21 views)
File Type: jpg P4140707.JPG (116.2 KB, 28 views)
File Type: jpg P4140704.JPG (773.8 KB, 21 views)
File Type: jpg P4140705.JPG (699.8 KB, 20 views)
File Type: jpg P4140707.JPG (116.2 KB, 28 views)
File Type: jpg P4140704.JPG (773.8 KB, 19 views)
File Type: jpg P4140705.JPG (699.8 KB, 19 views)
File Type: jpg P4140707.JPG (116.2 KB, 28 views)
File Type: jpg P4140704.JPG (773.8 KB, 19 views)
File Type: jpg P4140705.JPG (699.8 KB, 19 views)
File Type: jpg P4140707.JPG (116.2 KB, 30 views)
shoedawg2020 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2010, 10:04 PM   #8
gigj
Moped Rider
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 10
Default Re: 2006 mazda 3 hatch back aux port in arm rest

hmmm... interesting
gigj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2010, 10:32 PM   #9
whothatchineze
Short Track Racer
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Torrance, California
Posts: 146
Send a message via AIM to whothatchineze
Default Re: 2006 mazda 3 hatch back aux port in arm rest

[quote author=danielj link=topic=170747.msg3616531#msg3616531 date=1271269611]
I would question the aux input. These were not available from Mazda until 07 on models in North America. So if you're in the US or CN and have an aux input in your 06, it was added later.
[/quote]

I had an 06 and I didn't have anything like that in my arm rest. Jealous. If it is anything like the 2007 problems with satellite, you could go to a dealer to have them install a switch-box, which will run you anywhere between 300~400 USD. They charge 250 just to take out the center console.

I found a reputable audio shop locally and they charged me 1 hour labor to switch the sat input to the aux input.
whothatchineze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2010, 12:53 PM   #10
shoedawg2020
Bicycle Rider
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 4
Default Re: 2006 mazda 3 hatch back aux port in arm rest

Alright, I may be acting like a complete newb here...but I tooke out te HU and found a cord that was taped down (should be the aux cord), but it does not fin into the back of the radio at all. is there a part I need to buy to plug it into the back of the radio? It was the only cord I could see and I gave it a tug and it seemed like it ran to the aux port in the armrest...... Any suggestions? The cable I found...if I had to describe it has 8 pins I think.... each of the pins were longer horizontally (not like the normal thin pins).

Thanks again for your help
shoedawg2020 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Mazda3 Forums : The #1 Mazda 3 Forum > Visual / Audio > 2004-2009 Electronics Discussion

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.